The girl Nextdoor

It’s time to show you my first coolhunt of my second year!
We – lifestyle professionals (in pre) – do it everywhere: coolhunting. At school, in stores, fitnesscenters and on the web.
But what is cool?
“Cool is attractive, inspiring and with future growth potential.”

In my opinion, the new social network Nextdoor is cool. The intention of Nextdoor is to get the people off their computers. We all know Facebook and Twitter and we all know that it is popular. Many people are – how can I say this properly – addicted to it and I won’t deny that I never check my Facebook-timeline twice a minute…

However, I have the feeling that we want to go back to how we used to live, we miss the face-to-face conversations. We want to live like we did in the past, but with a modern touch. We don’t want to share with hundreds of “friends” anymore.
Nextdoor has the solution for this ‘problem’. If you want to sign up, you are required to give your real adress and thereafter you see yourself in a network in your community, with your neighbours and equals.

nextdoor

Anyhow, Nextdoor ís a social network, but it makes it easier to get in touch with your neighbours in real life. People regularly live in their own little world, they are too busy to really get to know who lives in their neighbourhood. Nextdoor shows users a map of the neighbourhood so you can see who lives next to you. Moreover, Nextdoor gives people the opportunity to find a reliable baby-sitter, inform eachother quickly when there’s a break-in and to organize a party for the community.

Bron: Weheartit.com
Bron: Weheartit.com

I think Nextdoor has future growth potential, because we all love the sense of community. For instance, I hate soccer. But during the World Cup I’m dressed in orange, red, white and blue and I might be yelling “Hup, Holland, Hup!!!” while I’m baking orange cupcakes for my friends and family. People need the feeling of safety, the assurance that you can always come to your neighbours when something’s wrong.

I am excited to sign up and to convince my neighbours to do the same thing.
Get in touch with the people who are literally close to you!

X

Leave a Reply

